How to delete your Tumblr account

Tumblr logo

Tumblr is an American social networking and microblogging site that has been around for well over a decade now.

It came as a unique mix of a social network and a blog, where you can post photos, text, quotes, links, music, videos, and more.

It is easily accessible, it lets you comment on other people's entries, reblog them, and more. It is particularly popular among fans of pretty much anything, and it became a go-to place for anyone wishing to join any possible ‘fandom' there is.

However, there are also reasons why you may wish to delete it, and whether you are looking for a reason to do so, or you already have one and you are merely looking for information on how to do it – we can help you out.

So keep scrolling and you'll have your Tumblr account banished in no time.

Why should you delete your Tumblr account?

Let's start with a few reasons why you might want to delete your Tumblr account in the first place.

First of all, it is easy to outgrow some of the internet's most popular platforms. This is not a bad thing – it means that you are developing further as a person. Or you may have just decided that Tumblr isn't relevant anymore, after all, it's ancient in the internet world.

Also, as you grow, it is essential for you to form your own opinions, which can be challenging when you are stuck following a specific group. Change is not a bad thing, and as you mature, you should allow yourself to go through this process.

Top Reasons

  • Tumblr no longer relevant.
  • You don't use the service.
  • Want more free time.
  • Reduce your online & social media activity.
  • Regain your privacy.

Unfortunately, Tumblr is also known for drama.

It is too easy to offend someone, as everything is turning political online. Discussions are now quickly turning into arguments and those into drama. If you are tired of it all, you might just want to leave.

Finally, it might just be a matter of time. Tumblr, as well as social networks in general, can be very time-consuming. If you need to focus on your studies, work, family, or even other hobbies, it is also OK to leave.

Step-by-step to close your account

If you have finally decided to delete your entire Tumblr account, doing so is effortless.

Follow these quick steps:

  1. Log into your Tumblr account from a browser on your computer or a mobile device (you cannot close your account from within the app).
  2. Go to your primary blog's settings page or your account settings page.
  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and look for the ‘Delete account‘ button.Delete Tumblr account button
  4. Click it. You'll then need to confirm your decision by entering your email and password again.Delete Tumblr confirmation page

Be aware, however, that once you delete your account, you cannot recover it.

With Tumblr, it's all or nothing.

Delete Tumblr final stage

If you go through with it, your primary blog will be deleted, the same as your account's username and email address.

Even the secondary blogs that you are only a member of will be gone, and you will be removed from all group blogs which you may have joined.

Can I reactivate my Tumblr account?

Unfortunately, no.

As mentioned, once you delete your account, that's it.

You will be able to create a new account using the same email and username, provided that no one else uses it for themselves in the meantime.

But, your original account and blog will be gone permanently. This is something that you should keep in mind if you are not sure about your decision, and you think you may want to come back at a later date.

In one way, it's great to see Tumblr allowing you to take such decisive action. On the other hand, if you're someone who likes to change their mind, the finality of it may make it off-putting.

Conclusion

Tumblr is an excellent, fun platform to spend some time and connect with people who like the same things as you do.

However, it can also be very shallow and limiting. This is due to heavy content recycling, and feed filtering which could prevent you from growing as a person and discovering new things.

You do not have to delete it if you are not sure about that decision, but if you are, keep in mind that the move will be permanent.

We have explained how you can do it above, and the rest is up to you.

Illustration © Benjamin Vess | Dreamstime.com

Ali Raza

Author: Ali Raza

Ali is a journalist with a keen interest in VPN usage. He is an expert in the field and has been covering VPN related topics for VPNCompare and numerous well-respected publications for many years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest privacy news, expert VPN guides & TV unblocking how-to’s sent straight to your inbox.

Black Friday sale

Up to 84% off!