How to close your Pinterest account

Pinterest logo inside phone with hand

Pinterest is easily one of the best sites for finding any image you could think of.

The site has a massive library that can match that of Instagram, and it is a perfect place for getting new ideas, promoting your own business, finding artists, and more.

With that said, there are also a few reasons you might want to delete your account.

If this happens, you should know how to do it.

Fortunately, it is a straightforward process if you know what to do, and we can show you just that, but more on that later.

First, let's talk about why you might want to get rid of your account.

Why would you want to delete Pinterest?

As mentioned, there are several reasons for deleting Pinterest, such as addiction.

This may sound ridiculous at first, but it is all too easy to get so used to spending all your time looking at amazing images that can be found on the network, that you simply get addicted to it.

This can take you down a huge rabbit hole and is ultimately harmful for you.

FastCompany summarised the addictiveness of Pinterest saying it's “human instinct to collect things–be it baseball cards, miniature spoons, or teacups–is as old as stuff itself. But it took Pinterest to perfect this process online” (Source).

If you catch yourself slipping and spending too much time within the app, it is better to cut your ties to it and delete your account.

Another reason for leaving Pinterest is if you use it for inspiration and business purposes.

At some point, you will outgrow it, and it will not be able to provide you with what you need anymore. You will notice that you are not visiting as much anymore, and at that point, why should you even keep an account there?

It's best for your privacy to clean up no longer used social media accounts be it Pinterest or any of the others like Skype, Instagram, Snapchat or Tumblr.

How to deactivate Pinterest?

If you still need Pinterest, but you notice that you are getting a bit too attached to it, you might want to simply take a bit of a break instead of entirely deleting your account.

This is what the deactivation is for, and you can deactivate your account safely, with your profile and boards being invisible to others, but still there.

All you need to do is this:

  1. Click on the ⚫⚫⚫ at the top of Pinterest or your Profile Photo.
  2. Click on Edit Settings or the Cog Icon.
  3. Next, go to Account Settings on the left.
  4. Find the Deactivate Account option, which sits under Account Changes.Pinterest account options
  5. Pinterest will also ask you to provide a reason for deactivating your account, so you can do that as well if you wish.

How to reactivate your Pinterest account?

As mentioned, this will only be to take a break and not allowing it to get a firm hold on you.

So, once you start feeling that Pinterest's grip on you is loosening, you can return to the network and keep using it for your business or hobby.

All you need to do to reactivate your account is to log back in with your email and password, and that's it.

It will be as if you never left, and you can keep going from where you left off.

How to permanently delete (close) your Pinterest account?

The other option is much more permanent, and it allows you to close your Pinterest account once and for all.

There will be no going back after this one, and that is why it is imperative for you to be sure that you need and want to get rid of it before actually doing it.

Once you are confident that you want to do it, here are the steps you need to take:

  1. Click on the ⚫⚫⚫ at the top of Pinterest.
  2. Click on Edit Settings.
  3. Next, go to Account Settings on the left.
  4. Find the Delete Account option and click it.
  5. Explain the reason for your decision to Pinterest.
  6. Then click on Send Email.
  7. Check if the email address associated with your account has received confirmation that your account was closed.

Can I reactivate my account after deleting it?

Actually, you still have a small window of opportunity to get your account back if you choose to delete it.

Pinterest will deactivate it immediately when you order deletion, but it will not do it for 14 days.

This is the period that you have to think your decision through, and potentially change your mind.

If you do decide that you want your account back, log in with your login credentials, and Pinterest will send you a reactivation link.

Summary

Pinterest can be exciting, but also highly addictive, and at some point, it might even stop being useful to you.

If this, or some other reason made you consider deleting it, it might be the time to do it.

If you wish to continue at some later point, you can take a break and deactivate your account to stop receiving notifications.

However, if you wish to cut the ties permanently, you can order its deletion and be done with it. It's entirely your choice.

I would love to know why you're deleting your Pinterest account. Let me know in the comments section below.

Illustration © Ramu Chinnasamy | Dreamstime.com

Ali Raza

Author: Ali Raza

Ali is a journalist with a keen interest in VPN usage. He is an expert in the field and has been covering VPN related topics for VPNCompare and numerous well-respected publications for many years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest privacy news, expert VPN guides & TV unblocking how-to’s sent straight to your inbox.